Ida County Treasurer
Ida County Treasurer
The Ida County Treasurer’s Office is responsible for collection of taxes and other fees for state, county, city, school districts, community colleges, and other taxing bodies such as townships and fire districts. Each year the Iowa Department of Management certifies property tax levies, from the taxing bodies, to the County Auditor. These levies are applied to the taxable property values assessed by the County Assessor to establish the annual tax amount to be collected by the County Treasurer. The 1st half is due by September 30th and the 2nd half is due by March 31st of the following year. The County Treasurer prepares and mails tax statements. Delinquent statements are mailed November 1st and May 1st of each year. Delinquent taxes are published in June and subject to the annual June tax sale. If the taxes are not purchased after two publications, a tax sale certificate is issued to the County. If taxes are not redeemed within a given period of time, the certificate holder may be given deed to the property.
For your convenience, the Ida County Treasurer’s Office accepts online payments for taxes and online motor vehicle renewals. Go to www.iowatreasurers.org and choose to pay property taxes or renew vehicle registration. You can pay by debit card, credit card or e-check. You can also set up to pay your taxes monthly by automatic payment or get reminders when they are due.
The Treasurer collects and accounts for all funds coming into the county from various departments. All money is prudently invested and totally insured and protected as required by the Code of Iowa. The guidelines used are safety, liquidity, and maximum return for the public investment. These investments come from property taxes, state & federal monies, motor vehicle fees, and other miscellaneous fees collected through other county offices.
The County Treasurer’s office is responsible for all motor vehicle transactions. The State of Iowa Department of Transportation directs the County Treasurer as their agent to process motor vehicle transactions and collect appropriate fees according to the Code of Iowa (law). These include, but are not limited to:
- Transfer of ownership (title transfers) and collection of use tax
- Registration fees (license plate/validation fees), as well as registration refunds, all types of vehicles, cars and trucks, trailers, motorcycles, truck-tractors, and semi-trailers must pay an annual license fee
- Specialty plates issuance
- Duplicate titles, registrations, and plates
- Notation and cancellation of security interests
- Storage of vehicles and junking certificate issuance
The Treasurer’s Office also issues driver’s licenses. Your license expires on your birthday. It is valid for another 60 days and can be renewed within that 60 days without having to take the knowledge test. While your license is valid in Iowa during the 60 day grace period, other states, businesses or airlines may not recognize the 60 day grace period. You will have to pass the vision screening test each time your license is renewed. If your license has been expired for more than one year, you will have to take the driving test as well as the knowledge test and vision screening. Under special circumstances, you can apply for your license renewal from 30 days to one year before the expiration on your license. You must, however, explain to the examiner why you’re applying for such an early renewal.